Monday, August 3, 2009

Arkansas Freestyle Wrestling at Fargo Nationals

For the first time ever, Arkansas has sent a National Freestyle Qualifying team to Fargo Nationals. Pat Smith and Randy Steen have joined forces to bring about this exciting event in Arkansas sports history. Pat Smith, four time NCAA state champion has relocated to Little Rock, Arkansas and is actively building a youth wrestling program from the ground up. Randy Steen, who brings a career of experience in coaching and officiating, as well as an impressive resume including Olympic venue officiating, assumed the coaching position of Rogers Heritage High School for the 2008-2009 season, and led HHS first team to a second place state finish with two state champions. Both state champions, Paxon Fowler (112) and Jared Arthur (145) competed at nationals as well as representatives from Bentonville, Little Rock Catholic, Little Rock Central and more high schools around the state. Featured picture is of Dexter Carter of Little Rock Catholic.

No comments: